Photo of Museum door with info on hoursThe Kitimat Museum & Archives is a non-profit organization with a mission, mandate, and statement of purpose in service to the community of Kitimat. The KMA operates the Kitimat community archives with accepted standards of archival policy and procedure.

The KMA is governed by a constitution and bylaws* that provide for a Board of seven directors elected by the membership. There are two non-voting appointments to the Board of Directors – one representative each to be appointed by the Municipal Council of the District of Kitimat and the Haisla Nation Council.

More info on the: incorporation, historical profile and future plans, introduction to policy and procedures, constitution and by-laws, institutional plan, and organizational structure can found in the *Kitimat Museum & Archives Organizational Manual.pdf

Board of Trustees 2018-2019:

  • Robin Rowland
  • Arthur Renwick
  • Sheila McInnis
  • April MacLeod
  • Connie Craig
  • Ralph Reschke
  • Edwin Empinado is the District of Kitimat Council representative.
  • Teresa Windsor is the Haisla Nation Council representative.

Elections and appointments to the Board are annual, with a four-year limit of tenure. Directors select the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer annually at the first meeting of the Board of Directors following the Annual General Meeting in May.

The Board is concerned with policy and planning, and delegates to the Museum Curator the professional administration of the Museum within the limits of approved policies and plans.

All Rights Reserved Kitimat Museum & Archives